Sunday, 19 August 2012

Book review - Tales of the Gypsy Dressmaker by Thelma Madine

It's been such a long time since I did a book review due to basically getting out of the habit of reading but when I saw this book by the famous gypsy dressmaker, Thelma Madine, had been published I read it in super speedy time so here is what I thought.......


The blurb....

Thelma Madine, star of Channel 4’s Big Fat Gypsy Weddings and fairy godmother of extravagant wedding dresses, reveals the drama, secrets and surprises involved in ten incredible traveller weddings.

Through the tales of ten elaborate gypsy wedding dresses, Thelma Madine, trusted confidante and dressmaker extraordinaire, offers a window onto the world of traveller brides and their unbelievable celebrations.

For Thelma’s young brides, a wedding dress is more than just a pretty white gown. For some it is a symbol of their fairytale-like hopes and dreams for the future, for others a mark of a long-standing friendship with a non-traveller they have welcomed into their community, and, for one small group, it is a sad reminder of day they know will never come.

With each chapter based around the secrets and incredible truths hidden behind each different dress, Thelma’s second book is packed full of fascinating new stories. By turns laugh-out-loud funny and achingly sad, and brimming with hilarious anecdotes and larger-than-life characters, Thelma’s book will amaze, amuse and entertain.

Beautifully designed and fully-illustrated throughout, it is crammed with glossy new photos, revealing never-before-seen dresses adorned with thousands of Swarovski crystals and hundreds of LED lights – an ideal gift for fans of Channel 4’s Big Fat Gypsy Weddings and Thelma’s Gypsy Girls.


What I thought.....

As you've probably guessed I loved this book. It was really easy to read and I read it over 3 nights and found it hard to put down when it was bed time. I bought this to read on my iPad and  loved reading about Thelma's life, if you liked Thelma's Gypsy Girls then I think you'll love this book.


Pages....

304


Available on....

Kindle, iPad and in the traditional paper in a book!

1 comments:

Carole said...

Hi there, would you like to link in to “Books You Loved”. Here is the link Books You Loved August Edition Cheers

Post a Comment